Tuesday, November 29, 2011

2011 National Book Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2011 National Book Awards were announced on November 17th.  There was a stellar group of finalists in the fiction and nonfiction categories.

The winner for Fiction went to Jesmyn Ward's Salvage the Bones.  The book portrays a family during the build up to a hurricane threatening their Mississippi town.  The children must help each other as their father, a notoriously hard drinker, shows little regard to the impending disaster.

Other finalists in Fiction included:

The Sojourn by Andrew Krivak
The Tiger's Wife by Tea Obreht
The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
Binocular Vision by Edith Pearlman

The Nonfiction winner was Stephen Greenblatt's The Swerve: How the World Became Modern.  This book describes the importance of an ancient book, On the Nature of Things by Lucretius, which helped fuel the Renaissance.

Other finalists in Nonfction included:

The Convert: A Tale of Exile and Extremism by Deborah Baker
Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Manning Marable

Visit the National Book Award website for information on this year's award winners and nominees.

No comments: