Thursday, September 26, 2013

And the winners are…

The 2013 Dayton Literary Peace winners have been announced! This year hosted an amazing group of finalists. The previous Dayton Literary Peace Prize blog focused on the texts when the finalists were announced. For the winners, I will give you some biographical information about the authors who created the award winning pieces.

Fiction Winner
Adam Johnson , The Orphan Master’s Son
Adam Johnson is Associate Professor of English with emphasis in creative writing at Stanford University. His work has appeared in Esquire, Harper’s, Playboy, GQ, Paris Review, Granta, Tin House, The New York Times and Best American Short Stories. He is the author of Emporium, a short-story collection, and the novel Parasites Like Us. His books have been translated into twenty-three languages. Johnson was a 2010 National Endowment for the Arts Fellow. His novel The Orphan Master’s Son was published in 2012 by Random House and received the 2013 Pulitzer Prize in fiction. He also has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for 2013-14.
Fiction Runner-up
Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn’s Long Half-time Walk
Ben Fountain is also the author of a story collection, Brief Encounters with Che Guevara. His work has received the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Award, the PEN/Hemingway Award, and a Whiting Writer's Award and also has been a finalist for the National Book Award both in the United States and the U.K. His nonfiction has appeared in The New York Times, The New York Times Sunday Magazine, and The Wall Street Journal. His reportage on post-earthquake Haiti was broadcast nationally on the radio show "This American Life." A graduate of Duke University School of Law, he practiced real estate law before quitting the law in 1988 to become a full-time writer.

Nonfiction Winner
Andrew Solomon, Far from the Tree
Andrew Solomon is a writer and lecturer on psychology, politics, and the arts. He also won the National Book Award, and is an activist in LGBT rights, mental health, and the arts. For a more complete biography, please go to Andrew Solomon's webpage.

Nonfiction Runner-up
Gilbert King, Devil in the Grove
Gilbert King is the author of Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America, which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 2013. King is originally from Schenectady, New York. He has written about Supreme Court history and the death penalty for the New York Times and the Washington Post, and he is a featured contributor to Smithsonian magazine’s history blog, Past Imperfect.

The awards will be presented on November 3rd at the Schuster Center. However, don’t try to reserve a seat at this point; the event is completely sold out. There is still space available for the “Conversation with the Authors” event held at Sinclair Community College on the morning of November 3rd. For more information about the events, please refer to the Dayton Literary Peace Prize website.

No comments: