Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Mystery Award Winners 2014!

The 2014 Bouchercon World Mystery Convention was held last month in Long Beach, CA.  This is the top dog of mystery conventions because it gives out some of the most prestigious literary mystery awards. 

The big winner of the night was William Kent Krueger who won 3 out of the 4.

Ordinary Grace
New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Frank begins the season preoccupied with the concerns of any teenage boy, but when tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family-which includes his Methodist minister father; his passionate, artistic mother; Juilliard-bound older sister; and wise-beyond-his-years kid brother-he finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal, suddenly called upon to demonstrate a maturity and gumption beyond his years. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God. 

Here are some of the other talented winners:

--The Anthony Awards--for mystery writers and presented since 1986. The awards are named for Anthony Boucher (1911–1968), one of the founders of the Mystery Writers of America

Best Mystery Novel: Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
Best First Mystery: Yesterday's Echo by Matt Coyle
Best Paperback Original: As She Left It by Catriona McPherson
Best Critical/Non-Fiction Work: The Hour of Peril: the Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower
Best Audio Book: The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith, read by Robert Glenister

--The Barry Awards--crime literary prize awarded annually since 1997 by the editors of Deadly Pleasures, an American crime fiction publication. The prize is named after Barry Gardner, an American critic. 

Best Novel: Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
Best First Mystery Novel: Japantown by Barry Lancet
Best Thriller: The Doll by Taylor Stevens

--The Macavity Awards--annual literary award for mystery writers. Nominated and voted upon by the members of the Mystery Readers International and named for the "mystery cat" of T. S. Eliot's Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats.

Best Mystery Novel: Ordinary Grace by Wiliam Kent Krueger
Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award: Murder as a Fine Art by David Morrell

--The Shamus Awards--awarded by the Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) and recognizes outstanding achievement in private eye/detective fiction. 

Best P.I. Novel: The Good Cop by Brad Parks
Best P.I. Paperback Original: Heart of Ice by P. J. Parrish
Best First P.I. Novel: Bear is Broken by Lachlan Smith

Full list of winners and nominees

No comments: