Thursday, October 1, 2015

2015 Dayton Literary Peace Prize Winners

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize (DLPP) began in 2006. The express mission of the award is to honor the advancement of peace through literature. The DLPP is the only annual literary award in the United States to take on this mission. Works of adult fiction and nonfiction promoting peace and humanity published within the past year are able to be nominated for cash prizes. It is a unique and prestigious award, and it is a Dayton original!

The 2015 winners of the DLPP offer an interesting range of subjects, which is not uncommon to the awards. Each year four books and one lifetime achievement winner are recognized.

Holbrooke Award Winner for Lifetime Achievement
This year Gloria Steinem was selected to receive the Richard C. Holbrooke Lifetime Achievement award for her work as a leader and spokesperson of worldwide feminism. Steinam has spent her life using words to achieve peaceful political action in many arenas. She has driven the women’s movement with her written and spoken word. Her newest book, My Life on the Road, is her memoir of travel, activism, and leadership.

Fiction Winner
Josh Weil’s debut novel, The Great Glass Sea, is a novel of political, philosophical and historical. Weil’s book blends genres, but ties it all together nicely with expert storytelling.  Weil has been named a National Book Award "Five Under Thirty-Five" author, he has received fellowships from the Fulbright Foundation, Columbia University, the MacDowell Colony, Bread Loaf, and Sewanee.

Nonfiction Winner
Bryan Stevenson, attorney and founder of the Equal Justice Initiative, wrote Just Mercy to bring attention to the different inhumane elements that we allow to inform our sense of justice in the U.S. His book focuses on an unjust death penalty case, but also highlights the focus of work overall—giving a voice to the condemned, both just and unjust cases. Stevenson has been recognized numerous times for his work exhaustive work defending human rights. He is also a Nobel Peace Prize Laureate.

Fiction Runner-up
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Nonfiction Runner-up

To place holds on the books or view last year's winners, please check out our new Dayton Literary Peace Prize booklist.

For more information on the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, please go to

No comments: